^ Top

2017 Board of Directors Candidates


Please note our elections software (BigPulse) will require you to login with your NANOG Member credentials. Also note you must be signed in to view list of candidates or vote.  If you are not a Member of NANOG, you can join before 9:00am Pacific on Wednesday, October 4, 2017 and participate in the 2017 Elections.

NANOG Board of Directors

The NANOG Board of Directors is an active and engaged component of NANOG. The Board of Directors is responsible for and works closely with the Committee Chairs to promote, support, and improve NANOG. The Board ensures that the NANOG organization remains open, relevant, useful, and financially sound. The Board is also responsible for the selection of the new Program Committee and Communications Committee members. Elections for the Board of Directors will be held in October 2017. Two (2) positions are to be filled.

Per the bylaws, Board members must be NANOG members in good standing and must attend at least two of three yearly NANOG meetings while in office. Each candidate must declare any and all affiliation(s) relevant to NANOG, which will include his or her main employer, as well as any other major relationships (for instance, if a candidate's primary employer is a nonprofit entity which is sponsored by a vendor, the candidate would declare both the nonprofit and the vendor as affiliations).

All candidates will be notified of their nomination and will be asked to accept or decline the nomination. If accepted, they will be asked to complete an online questionnaire about their qualifications and their Declaration of Candidacy. Board of Director Candidates will be invited to make a short presentation during the Board Candidate Introductions session on Monday afternoon, 2-October, during NANOG 71.

A good candidate will have experience with Internet engineering, operations, and governance organizations as well as the principles and practices which guide them. Consensus organizing, leadership, outreach and communication skills are prized, and a willingness to be engaged in the governance process is required.

The NANOG 2017 Elections Process opens 7-August-2017. To nominate yourself or another person, please complete the online process. Please submit any questions to [email protected].

To view the Board Member Responsibilities, click HERE


  Terms Expiring:   Terms Not Expiring:
 Greg Dendy, Equinix Ryan Donnelly, Salesforce.com
Jezzibell Gilmore, PacketFabric *  William Charnock, PacketFabric 
  Patrick Gilmore, Markley Group
  Dave Temkin, Netflix

*Is term-limited and cannot be considered for re-election until October 2018.


2017 Board of Directors Candidates

Don Davis, Iron Mountain Data Center

Paul Emmons, Ninja-IX Corporation

Steve Feldman, CBS Interactive

Paul Fischetti, Quicklight LLC

Susan Forney, Markley Group

Eve Griliches, Cisco Systems

L Sean Kennedy, Verizon

Tina Morris, Amazon Web Services

Ron Ripley, Shaw Communications

All Board of Directors nominations were made through 8-September-2017.

Statements of support for NANOG Board Candidates were made through 12:00 PDT, 25-September-2017. Your words of support will be listed with the candidate's name.

REMINDER - Ballot voting will open at 8am Pacific on Monday 2-October-2017 and close at 12pm Pacific on Wednesday 4-October-2017.  NANOG Members as of 9:00am Pacific on Wednesday 4-October-2017 will be eligible to vote.  Voting instructions will be sent to each member.